so where we are at right now with the apiary….

My first interest in bees was a combination of both my love of nature and also working in environmental science – I was very concerned with the early reports of ‘colony collapse disorder’ and the powers-that-be’s real lack of concern or willingness to make an investment into trying to find out hwta is going wrong…. despite the USA announcing a mass loss of bee colonies and Europe having slightly less but still terrifying losses. There are many stats banded about but I think the most basic is that out of every three mouthfulls of food that you eat, two have been pollinated by bee’s ….

2009 was a year of learning – I joined my local beekeepers association (Kent, UK) and read lots of beekeeping books. Fortunately I was also ‘adopted’ by a beekeeper with many years of experience who let me join her on weekly hive inspections and attempted to answer my relentless questions with much patience …. all in all it was a great way of ‘try before you buy’ as a beekeeper with my only real costs being a bee suit and a few books.

March 2010 saw me turning up at my local apiary, mid evening and in semi darkenss to pick up a buzzing hive full of workers, brood and a laying queen I loaded them into the back of my car and drove to my new apiary site where I set them up on the new hive stand I had built inthe weeks leading up to becoming an official beekeeper. This was the start of a very interesting few weeks work which now sees me with three full colonies ….. here is a picture of the first hive, set up in March, with worker bees collecting in pollen supplies.

Leave a Reply

