Bee Venom Therapy – BBC Radio Kent interview

I have previously written about the Bee Venom Therapy that I carried out to try and cure my wife’s Rheumatoid Arthritis back in 2011 and 2012, if you didn’t read the two earlier articles I would strongly recommend doing so before listening to the attached radio interview from January 2014.

These articles can be found easily by clicking on the links below:

Bee Venom Therapy (BVT) …. is it a sting too far?

Bee Venom Therapy in action – does it really cure the pain?

Stings applied to joints on both hands

Stings applied to painful knuckle joints on both of my wife’s hands

In January 2014 my wife, Emma, was asked if she would go into the local BBC Radio Kent studio to take part in a live interview with Julia George on her morning show. Having suffered from aches and pains and swollen joints she was diagnosed with Rheumatoid Arthritis in 2010. Having overcome the illness through treatment she was happy, although a little nervous, to go along and chat about the experience of being stung by the bees and the outcome from the bee venom therapy.

Overall Emma had about 130 bee stings over the spring and summer months on each year – so totaling nearly 260 – and as a bee keeper who occasionally gets stung I know how painful it can be and am full of respect for her pursuing the BVT but then as you will hear in the interview the fear of a life controlled by drugs with some quite nasty potential side effects was enough for her to give the bees a  chance.

You can hear the whole radio interview (approximately 10 minutes) by clicking play below, however I should warn you that there is about 20 seconds of Boyzone on the audio before the interview begins!

 

 

I should also point that the BVT wasn’t carried out in isolation and formed part of a strategy to overcome the illness, other parts of this included nutritional changes, drinking Honeygar, acupuncture and increased exercise when her joints allowed.

Ultimately I hope that the earlier articles and this follow up radio interview will give others suffering from the symptoms of  arthritis some hope and help in your personal journey to find a drug free cure.

Bees don't get arthritis

Bees don’t get arthritis

I would love to hear what you think of the interview if you do take the time to listen…. feel free to leave a comment :-)

I hope to keep adding to this blog as and when time allows in 2014, thank you for taking the time to read my ramblings your continuing comments and questions – this makes it all worth while for me as the writer….

I can also be found at @danieljmarsh on twitter or British Beekeepers page on Facebook.

Dan

8 responses to this post.

  1. Congrats on a great interview Dan and Emma. So happy to hear that the treatment has worked so well.

    Reply

    • Thanks Ellie, the interview was totally down to Emma and she did an amazing job but I guess when you have a such a happy ending to something that affects so many others in a negative way it is really important to share details of your journey and how you achieved the outcome and hopefully it will help inspire others to overcome RA

      Reply

  2. Posted by Dr nick Jordan on February 2, 2014 at 6:51 am

    Interesting so glad it has provided some relief to you, as you know bee sting acupuncture is used for a lot of ailments eapecially in the states and should be considered more seriously in the UK I’m my view. I believe the expert is a lady called amber rose it you listen to the organically managed beekeeping podcast on iTunes there is a series of three episodes that cover the practice extensively.

    Reply

  3. Thanks for your addition to this blog, I will certainly listen to the podcasts that you mention. My wife does dry needling as part of the treatment for her patients and I am aware of using bee venom in acupuncture however I think it would have been more difficult to extract the bee venom for use in this way and I also read that it is less potent than that directly administered through a bee stings, but of course I cannot prove this! There is definitely an increased interest in the use of bee venom in the treatment of a number of conditions and I think the practice will become more widely accepted as both medical and anecdotal evidence increases.
    Best regards

    Dan and Emma

    Reply

  4. Posted by Hamid Aitouznag on February 5, 2014 at 12:05 pm

    Thanks bunches Dan. I really appreciated this! Your wife explained everything in a really clear nice moving way. I hope you both and your kids all the best health!! Keep the good work. Ah, in case you didn’t recognize me, I am Hamid with MS who E-mailed you last week from Morocco. All the best!!

    Reply

    • Hi Hamid, thanks for your comment and I’m really glad that you have found this interview useful, hopefully you will have a greater understanding of what we did now as you start your own journey with the bees!
      Best regards

      Dan

      Reply

  5. Thanks for posting, I enjoyed reading about that.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 573 other followers